Events

Some events are subject to change due to unforeseen circumstances. Please check this page before setting off.

Our regular meetings are held at the Priory Street Centre in York. Click here for details.
The location of the regular Knavesmire star parties can be found here.

Our ‘Sister Observatory’, Lime Tree Observatory, also hosts a number of Public Astronomy Events, details of which can be found here.

Our public observing sessions are shown in green.


2019


Saturday 23rd February

Public Star Party and talk at The Yorkshire Arboretum.

Part of the Dark Skies Festival 2019

This event must be booked beforehand. See the Arboretum’s website website for details, prices and to book.

BOOK NOW


Friday 1 March

Sundials

Presented by David Cook

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Saturday 2 March

Public Star Party and talk at Sutton Bank.

Part of the Dark Skies Festival 2019

This event must be booked beforehand. See the Dark Skies Festival website for more details.

BOOK NOW


Thursday 14th March

Public Star Party at the Knavesmire, York

For location see map


Friday 15 March

The Vikings at Barsoom pt2: “The Search for Life”

Presented by Paul Money

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Friday 5 April

A Dave’s Spring Lecture

Presented by Dave Armeson

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Thursday 11th April

Public Star Party at the Knavesmire, York

For location see map


Friday 19 April

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York

Good Friday – no meeting.


Friday 3 May

Liquid Mirrors: The Wave of the Future or Just a Small Ripple

Presented by Dr Brad Gibson

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Thursday 9 May

Public Star Party at the Knavesmire, York

For location see map


Friday 17 May

Modern meteor astronomy

Presented by Nick James

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Saturday 18 May

BAA Section Meeting

Clements Hall, Nunthorpe Road, York, YO23 1BW 

See BAA website for details.


Thursday 6 June

Public Star Party at the Knavesmire, York

For location see map


Friday 7 June

Edge of Darkness – an introduction to Dark nebulae

Presented by Dr Nick Hewitt

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Friday 21 June

Death of Stars

Presented by Alan Hawley

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Friday 5 July

Informal Meeting

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York


Thursday 11 July

Public Star Party at the Knavesmire, York

For location see map


Friday 19 July

Talk presented by Martin Dawson, topic to be confirmed

Public Talk at The Priory Street Centre, York